Understanding Personal Injury Protection in Florida
PIP is the main form of insurance coverage for vehicle drivers in the state of Florida
Florida PIP is a no-fault insurance coverage that helps motorists pay medical bills and lost wages in the even of auto accident and injury in the state of Florida. Whether you are a rush-hour commuter or a leisurist day-tripper, you should know at least the basics of this law. A lot depends on whether a patient was treated within 14 days of the collision; if yes, we proceed with treatment on the patient’s PIP; if no, no coverage applies. What does this mean for you? It means that, whether you are feeling symptoms or not, you should take advantage of the first 14 days that you are covered to check in with a health professional! This rule also applies to musculoskeletal injuries in general, as you will find later in this blog.
If you were treated within 14 days of the accident, then the law will determine whether to proceed with where the claim goes- either to the patient’s own PIP insurance carrier, to the patient’s relative or, if the patient was a passenger, through the insurance provider of the host vehicle.
How does chiropractic fit into the Florida PIP law
Under the statute, it is explicitly written that a D.C. can provide initial care and services and be covered by PIP as long as it is within the first 14 days after the accident occurred. At Hayes Family Chiropractic, we are of the opinion that the first 14 days are crucial for your body’s response to the trauma caused by an auto accident. Even with no specific injury, and seemingly no symptoms, the body could have suffered life-altering trauma. Shock covers the earliest symptoms of injuries like whiplash and disc injuries, which will continue to develop and degrade as time moves on from the accident.
The importance of chiropractic post-accident
Florida’s law compels a patient to seek treatment within 14 days of the accident to gain access to the maximum amount of coverage. Proper evaluation and treatment during this period represents your best chance of preventing musculoskeletal injuries from developing into something more chronic. Protect your quality of life post-accident by giving our office in Dunedin a call to schedule an appointment today. If you suspect you have suffered in the wake of an auto-injury, don’t hesitate to call us! We guarantee we will be able to see you within 14 days of your accident.
Leave a Comment
You must be logged in to post a comment.